The question before the committee – that being you and your partners on the officiating crew – is whether the official was correct in granting the timeout to Team A when A-1 gained possession of the ball by securing it between their legs.
In a basketball game with older and more skilled athletes, the action around the basket can often require officials to make quick and decisive rulings on players touching the ball, the ring and the net.
Do you know when a player can legally contact any of the above mentioned game pieces?
Continue reading …
In a hotly contested game after a made basket, B-1 is attempting to inbounds the ball while being pressured on the end line by A-1.
B-1 steps on the end line and passes the ball to B-2 who is out of bounds. B-2 subsequently bounces the ball while standing out of bounds?
Team A’s fans, and it’s head coach, loudly point out the position of B-1’s foot on the end line and scream for a penalty.
Others scream at B-2 for bouncing the ball on the throw-in.
Should the official rule any of these a violation?