In order to rule “traveling” correctly, three questions must be addressed:
- Which foot is the pivot foot?
- How much legal movement may the player initiate (after ending their dribble)?
- How much movement would be considered “in excess” of prescribed limits?
Keep in mind, it is not possible for a player to “travel” while dribbling. Of course there could be other violations such as palming or illegal dribble – but not traveling.
When watching the “Euro Step” video note where the dribbler was relative to a position on the floor when he ended the dribble.
- If a player ends a dribble with both feet on the floor, either foot may become the pivot.
- If both feet were off the floor and that player lands on both feet simultaneously, either foot may become the pivot foot.
- Once one foot is moved, the other becomes the pivot foot. That is not the case in the Euro Step.
- If both feet were off the floor and that player lands on one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch the floor would become the pivot foot.
- If one foot is on the floor when that player gains control or ends a dribble, two legal means of coming to a stop are possible. He may bring his other foot to the floor and thereby stop, or momentum may cause him to jump off that foot which is already on the floor and land on both feet simultaneously. This is a legal jump stop.
Once the pivot foot is established … it may be LIFTED but NOT RETURNED to the floor before the ball is released for a pass or try for goal.
When breaking down the video watch for these key items:
- Did the dribble end with one or both feet on the floor?
- Which foot should be considered the pivot foot?
- Did the pivot foot touch the floor again – BEFORE the ball was released for the try?
If the answer to number three (above) was YES, then this Euro Step would be considered illegal.
If the ball was released then player stayed within the “prescribed limits” of movement and would be considered legal.
Worth mentioning is the action of the hand in the cross over movement while dribbling. Did you consider this illegal “palming” of the ball during the dribble?
The move would be considered illegal if:
- The ball comes to rest in the dribbler’s hand(s)
- With the palm facing UPWARD — i.e. “more than a handshake.”
- The player continues the dribble after the above.
As player become quicker and more skilled there will be coaches that teach moves outside the prescribed limits of movement to test our knowledge and recognition of the dribble and travel rules. By knowing the pivot foot limitations will be the first step in understanding the limitations of a dribbler when it comes to new moves like the Euro Step.
Give our “60 Seconds on Officiating” community YOUR opinion (below) on the legality of the Euro Step.