When Does the Goal Count

Watch this video of a missed dunk … and make the ruling … does the goal COUNT or should the teams CONTINUE play?

Watch this video below (with the sound turned off) and decide for yourself if the goal should count.

Play it again (with sound on) and scroll down for the proper ruling.

Scroll Down for the proper ruling.







Ruling:  No goal, continue play.

  • For the goal to be scored a live ball that is not a throw-in must enter the basket from above and remains in or pass through.
  • If the ball passed completely through the net and then was deflected or bounced back upward through the basket – then it would be counted.
  • If the ball passed through the rim and remained lodged in the netting (because of a tangle or broken twine) — then it would be counted.

Here is another example where no goal was scored.


About Billy Martin

Co-creator of "60 Seconds on Officiating" and co-author of Beyond the Rules (book series) for Basketball Officials. Billy is a 35+ year basketball official with IAABO (Camden Board 34 and Cum-Cape 196, in Southern NJ). He also is a collegiate softball umpire with the Eastern Collegiate Softball Umpires (ECSU), and created the best selling "Bluebook 60" for fastpitch umpires, and coaches. He is considered one of the nations top authors and instructors on basketball officiating for over two decades. He lives in Wildwood, New Jersey - just a few steps away from the sand and surf. Contact: Website | Facebook | Twitter | More Posts

2 Comments on When Does the Goal Count

  1. And also, in the first clip, the guy sure looks like he traveled not once, but twice (before the dunk attempt)!

  2. dmcgowan@kamcoboston.com' David McGowan // December 26, 2017 at 7:10 am // Reply

    Agreed with JWright as it was a travel.Why not a technical as well. No need to grasp the ring as he was in control and didn’t need the ring to regain balance or for safety.

1 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Touchy Subject | Ref 60

Tell Us Your Thoughts