A-P Throw In?

During an alternating possession throw-in, the thrower (A-1) breaks the plane of the boundary line with the ball. B-1 grasps the ball and neither player can get the ball from one another. What’s the ruling?

Ruling: The official should rule a HELD BALL ball and give the ball back to team A for a new alternating possession throw-in, since the arrow is still pointing toward team A.

NFHS Reference: 6-4-4, 4-42-5a

About Ref 60 Staff

From the staff of "60 Seconds on Officiating." Contact: Website | Facebook | More Posts

18 Comments on A-P Throw In?

  1. vistar1@ptd.net' Vincent Ford // December 5, 2013 at 2:44 pm // Reply

    Why wouldn’t it be B-1’s ball because A-1 is standing out of bounds and cannot force a jump ball from an illegal position?

    • An AP arrow changes on two occasions: a) a legal throw-in is touched by a player on or off the court b) a throw-in violation…that’s it…so as unusual and perhaps unwitting this play is especially on A-1 A-1 is holding a live ball that is consider in player/team control..he/she is not in an illegal position……holding it over and across the boundary line makes little sense, but if B-1 decides to grasp it, neither player has committed a rules infraction…so we need to get the ball back in play…hence another jump ball. Remember the ball is live.

  2. He is still legal… the throw-in has not been completed yet (ball has not been released).

  3. If this scenario were to occur after a made basket, I assume team A would no longer be allowed to run the baseline.

  4. This rule needs to be challenged. If a person holds it over the plane and is standing out of
    bounds and someone else touches it, it should be an out of bounds violation. If you stay with it the way it is…..then the same team should be able to hand the ball to a team mate from an out of bounds position…but they can’t.

    • I also think this rule needs to be changed. Anyway, if its a held ball, the ball had to first be touched in bounds, which should have changed the arrow. Touching precedes a held ball, doesn’t it? I know I’m talking micro seconds, but the ball was touched in bounds first before it was ruled a held ball. The arrow should have changed.

  5. I understand this is the current interpretation, however, logically inconsistent. Team A player choose to put the ball over the throw in plain, as soon as team B touches the ball, team A player is no loner in a legal position. Team A, has already been afforded protection from team B player(s) reaching through the throw in plain, why does team A get this added advantage under the current ruling?

  6. Simply read when a throw-in ends.

  7. I was under the impression that the ball how to be passed or released onto the court and to a player. This scenario states the thrower in holds the ball over the boundary line. The held ball call is correct, however team does not get it back due to the AP arrow indicating team A ball. The throw in never ended, thus no arrow change and team A gets the ball back for another throw in. If the ball is passed onto the court and touched then the arrow will change.

  8. walshgolfmw@yahoo.com' Michael Walsh // December 6, 2013 at 8:02 am // Reply

    This is a tricky call. I believe most officials would go to the arrow.

  9. I agree with Harry D. A-1 (thrower-in) puts the ball over the plane and is legally touched by B-1, making the throw-in end. The A/P arrow should be turned and then ruled Team B ball.

  10. As George stated – held ball – AP arrow. Interesting though FIBA deals with this from a different angle. A throw in is a method of putting the ball into play so the ball shouldn’t be prevented from coming in. In FIBA there would be a warning issued to B1 for delay of game and then conveyed to the coaches (both teams) and should any player grab or prevent the throw in from crossing the plane of the boundary they would be T’d for delay. Just a different look at the same play in the rule set played by the rest of the world.
    Also interesting are some of the comments that I hope will encourage some to go back into their books and become more aware of the nuances of the NFHS and NCAA rule sets

  11. A throw-in does not end until the ball is released, therefore Team A is awarded another throw-in. If Team B reaches through the throw-in plane and touches the ball, we have a Technical Foul …. If Team B reaches through and fouls the thrower, we have an Intentional Foul

Tell Us Your Thoughts