Officiating News
Education

You’re never too old to learn!

Now available on Amazon … all the great articles from “60 Seconds on Officiating” in print for easy reading. Click above to learn more.

Video Library

  • EuroStep

    Watch this video of the Euro Step and you decide if this new technique is “within the prescribed limits” of movement or should be ruled a traveling violation.

  • bobdonato

    Learn some great tips for working the LEAD position in a two- or three-person crew… from staff writer, Al Battista.

  • DunkIssue

    Watch this video of a missed dunk … and make the ruling … does the goal COUNT or should the teams CONTINUE play?

  • video logo 1

    Take 3 minutes to view these great scholastic video examples of foul calling situations to improve your on-court judgement.

  • Big12Video

    An inside (video) look at how the BIG 12 officials prepare and critique themselves before and after games.

Focus on Mechanics

  • Photo courtesy of Garry Thompson.

    There are several “best practices” that can be adopted to minimize the “bounce” effect of jumping between two- and three-person crews.

  • firsthorn940w

    After the first warning horn it’s time for the crew to get back to work. Know your responsibilities in a two and three person crew.

  • whistleimage
    This is a reprise of an article written by Al several years ago … that is definitely worth reading prior to each and every year. [Ref60 Editor] ¬†As the new year is [Read more...]
  • wrong-way

    What should you do when the teams are going in the wrong direction?

  • IAABO guys
    As we all strive to become better at the craft of officiating, sometimes we forget very simple things that contribute to our success on the court. As former Supervisor of [Read more...]

60 Second Rule Challenge

  • throwin

    During an alternating possession throw-in, the thrower (A-1) breaks the plane of the boundary line with the ball. B-1 grasps the ball and neither player can get the ball from one another. What’s the ruling?

  • DoubleWhistle

    The Umpire stopped the clock with a raised open hand and signals A-1 traveled, while the Referee stopped play with a closed fist before signaling B-1 for a pushing foul. How should this be handled?

  • Icon-round-Question_mark

    Take this NFHS quiz as you race against the clock to answer 10 quick questions in 10 minutes.

  • bloodyplayer

    A coach removes their player from the game because of bleeding and requests a 30 second time out. At the end of this time out, the player is ready to play. Is the team required to use a 60 second timeout to keep a player in the game or can they choose to use one of their 30 second timeouts in this case? What’s your ruling?

  • StallTactic

    How should your crew handle a situation where both teams are not providing sufficient action throughout the game?

  • benchpix

    Is it possible for the visiting team to change the location of their bench based on the argument it’s located too far away from the scorer’s table, as compared to the home team’s bench?

Search the Archives

What’s New

Partners

Email Subscriptions

Untitled Document

 

Join over 14,000 members and subscribe to our COMPLIMENTARY email newsletters sent to your inbox each week while in season. Look for an email from "60 Seconds on Officiating" to confirm your subscription. Welcome to our community!




Who's Online

1 visitors online now
Map of Visitors

Join the Conversation

  • Follow on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on LinkedIn

Connect with Ref 60 on Facebook

Follow Ref60 on Twitter