Officiating News
Education

You’re never too old to learn!

Now available on Amazon … all the great articles from “60 Seconds on Officiating” in print for easy reading. Click above to learn more.

Video Library

  • contactwithballhandler

    Contact with the Ball Handler is a Point of Emphasis for 2014-15.

  • DunkIssue

    Watch this video of a missed dunk … and make the ruling … does the goal COUNT or should the teams CONTINUE play?

  • bobdonato

    Learn some great tips for working the LEAD position in a two- or three-person crew… from staff writer, Al Battista.

  • video logo 1

    Take 3 minutes to view these great scholastic video examples of foul calling situations to improve your on-court judgement.

  • flagrantfoulimage

    Intentional foul video goes viral. How would YOU handle these situations.

Focus on Mechanics

  • firsthorn940w

    After the first warning horn it’s time for the crew to get back to work. Know your responsibilities in a two and three person crew.

  • wrong-way

    What should you do when the teams are going in the wrong direction?

  • IAABO guys
    As we all strive to become better at the craft of officiating, sometimes we forget very simple things that contribute to our success on the court. As former Supervisor of [Read more...]
  • Photo courtesy of Garry Thompson.
    In a TWO PERSON CREW during a quick transition, sometimes the ball will be deflected out of bounds by the defense on the LEAD’S SIDELINE (while transitioning). [Read more...]
  • NCAA Referees Gary Maxwell, and Zelton Steed take a break during a TV Timeout in Birmingham.  Photo courtesy of Garry Thompson.
    A key part of “getting the play right” is where the ball is spotted after the official makes their ruling on a violation,  a non-shooting foul or resumes play [Read more...]

Focus on Rules

  • DoubleWhistle

    The Umpire stopped the clock with a raised open hand and signals A-1 traveled, while the Referee stopped play with a closed fist before signaling B-1 for a pushing foul. How should this be handled?

  • throwin

    During an alternating possession throw-in, the thrower (A-1) breaks the plane of the boundary line with the ball. B-1 grasps the ball and neither player can get the ball from one another. What’s the ruling?

  • bloodyplayer

    A coach removes their player from the game because of bleeding and requests a 30 second time out. At the end of this time out, the player is ready to play. Is the team required to use a 60 second timeout to keep a player in the game or can they choose to use one of their 30 second timeouts in this case? What’s your ruling?

  • scorebooks

    Three minutes before the high school game starts, the head coach of Team B adds one name to the squad list and is assessed a technical foul. Just before the officials are ready to administer the first technical foul, the scorer informs the referee that two Team B designated starters are not starting. Should you assess another technical foul … or just one? What’s your ruling?

  • Downloadrulebooklogo_small

    Here are the latest tools from NFHS and NCAA to carry on your iPhone or Android smart phone.

  • StallTactic

    How should your crew handle a situation where both teams are not providing sufficient action throughout the game?

Join Our Community


(Click HERE for a Sample)

Search the Archives

Partners

Join the Conversation

  • Follow on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on LinkedIn

Connect with Ref 60 on Facebook

Follow Ref60 on Twitter